In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being influenced by past achievement within that field.

The famous scientist Newton once said if I had seen further, it was by standing on the shoulders of giants. It implies how great the influence the past knowledge and experience has on the present times. And the speaker claims that without the past achievement, we can not make any enormous contribution in that field. I mostly agree with this claim though it has some flaws.

I would like to share some of my understanding on human intelligence before elaborating on my reasoning. Humans are born with knowing nothing, and almost all the knowledge including basics facts, languages are taught by others when we are just toddlers. As we get older, we learn more about the ways of thinking, critical thinking, how to take in other's ideas and create something original. To some extent, human intelligence is similar to computer: without inputs and algorithms which tells the computer how to deal with the data, the computer will produce nothing, let alone something original; without knowledge from the past, no human can make significant discoveries or invention.

It would be easy to understand why the speaker claims that we can not make any great contribution if we are not affected by the past achievement from all discussed above. However, the speaker confines the achievements to that field, which I disagree with. For instance, the great physicist Max Plank who ushered a new field called quantum physics did not take in any past achievement from that field since he was the father of it. But, indeed he was enormously influenced by the classic physics in which he learnt the way of thinking, the rigor and honesty of scientists, and shining qualities, which are indispensable for his stunning discovery. What is more, scientist like Einstein who discovered special and general relative theory independently could not make it if he did not take in Lorenz transform. These examples illustrate that even the greatest scientists in the human history can not make huge contributions without being influenced by others' works or ideas.

Some people may argue against this statement that the past achievements may be wrong and these people indeed refuted or revised them. A particularly salient example is the Newton's second law, which is based on the wrong assumption that mass is constant and finally was overturned by Einstein. But, we have to realize that Einstein just modified the original equation by coefficient related to speed and he could not even notice its flaw if he did not familiar with it. In addition, the idea of the scientific demonstration in the course of developing the modified theory originally comes from the father of science Galileo.

To sum up, while the statement has some flaws, it basically aligns with my argument that no one could make a significant contribution unless he take in some past achievements.