Cliam: the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heros or its role models.

Reason: heros and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Various kinds of heros and role models now are pervasive in different aspects of our society like idols in entertainment, super heros in the films, and models in a society. The statement argues that examining the character of heros and role models chosen by a society is the best way to understand the character of the society because heros and role models show the highest ideals of a society. I mostly disagree with this statement because there are some flaws in both its reason and claim, while it may make some sense to some extent.

Heros and role models usually reflect what the society needs and recommends like some good qualities which may be a part of the society's ideals. In China, there are role models like Lei Feng who help others and contributes to the society selflessly, Yuan Longping who is dedicated to the high-yeild hybrid rice all the life and saves lots of people from starvation, and Bao Zheng who is a clean official and stands for justice and quality. As we all know, these people are admired and chosen as the heros and role models of the society because these good qualities are just what the society needs and recommends. While these excellent qualities play an extremely important role in helping the society reach its highest ideals and they may be a part of the highest ideals, they are obviously not the highest ideals of China, a socialist country whose highest ideal is known as the communism which advocates a society where there is no deprivation and everyone does what they are good at and take what they need freely. So heros and role models do not necessarily reveal the highest ideal of a society.

Even if the reason that heros and role models reveal the highest ideals of a society is assumed right, it is not necessarily the best way to understand the character of a society by examining the character of the heros and role models of the society. First, the highest ideals sometimes may be too remote to reflect the character of a society. For instance, the communism in China may need several centuries to realize, which is of course far different from the present society of China. So, it would be absurd to simply examine the character of the heros and role models which disclose the society's highest ideals to understand the present society's character. Besides, while heros and role model are what the society needs and recommends, they can not represent the majority of the society. The overwhelming majority of 1.4 billion Chinese people will not live like these heros and role models and have their own desires, happiness and sadness. This example illustrates that the claim also has its flaws.

From all discussed above, I mostly object to this reason because heros and role models usually reflects what the society needs instead of the highest ideals and disagree with the claim because the role models who reveal the future's highest ideals can not disclose the character of the present society and the few role models can not represent the majority of the society.