Governments shuold offer a free university education to any students who have been admitted to a university but who cannot offer the tuition

Higher education, as a major way of providing various kinds of talents for our society has always been a hot issue for most countries. And the speaker argues that governments should pay the tuition fo the students who are admitted to universities but can not afford it. While I admit that the statement has its reasons, I mostly disagree with it because it ignores the consequences it may bring.

On one hand, this suggestion if it were carried out, would bring several benefits for the country. First, the educational level of the whole country will improve because students who may give up the admission as the result of poverty can study in the universities and they do not need to spend so much time on part-time jobs. In China, the tuition of the university a year is around 10,1000 RMB is much higher than the whole year's salary of some poor family in some remote villages. How can we expect that most students like them will continue their universities regardless of the economic conditions of their families? For the country, there will be more workers who receive the higher education and can do more contributions to the development of the country if the government could pay the tuitions for them. Besides, it will also help prevent the solidification of the classes and promote the equality of the society. For instance, it is almost the only way for Chinese students from poor families to get into higher level of class by receiving better education. And the possibility of changing the future by education not ony encourages the students to study harder but also to some extent relieves the social contradictions of different classes.

On the other hand, this statement is on the assumption that the budget of the country is rather abundant. If we just ignore the assumption and carry out the policy blindly, it will delay the development of the country. Supposing that there is only 4% of the GDP for Chinese education, it would be up to 5% if the government carried out the policy in China. Then, the budget for other fields like technology would be less, which would impede the development of technology thus leading to less revenue coming from technology. Only when the proportion of the budget on different fields is balanced, the whole benefit of the country can reach the maximum.

Furthermore, some students and some local officials may collude to defraud the government of the tuition. For instance, a classmate of me whose family is not really so poor, however, wants the money for some luxury goods forged a proof that his family was extremely poor though his family was not as rich as the most families in our class. Our university would not bother to look into the details considering that there are so many students and the money is provided by the government. This example illustrates that it needs more considerations if we really wish this policy can work efficiently.

From all discussed above, I would like to mention some of my considerations though I know that this issue is too complex to give an effective and complete alternative suggestion in this composition. Firstly, the government does not have to be the sole source of the tuition; the successful alumnus and the some rich companies can also be the donator. In addition, poverty is one but not only requirement to apply for this tuition.

To sum up, while the statement has its good intentions, I mostly object to it because it also ignores the consequences it may bring about.