Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

It has been a trend in many countries that university students choose the majors like economy and computer science which are more likely to find decent jobs when they graduate from their schools. In view of it, the speaker argues that students should be encouraged by educational institutions to choose majors which are beneficial for them to find well-paid jobs. I mostly disagree with this statement because of two reasons though there are more ones whereas the statement itself has its own reason.

This suggestion may benefit both the market and the students because the lucrative careers like programmer are usually what the market urgently desires. For instance, artificial intelligence (AI) is a super hot field recently, in which students in China can have such a high salary up to 20,000 RMB which is much higher than that of the other jobs. So, students who choose to study this field are more likely to hunt a well-paid job and have a decent life. It also provides more related talents for the market so that the economy of our society can develop faster. Considering that educational institutions should serve the students and provide the talents the market need, the suggestion seems quite reasonable.

However, the present profitable fields do not necessarily mean that they are equally desirable in the future. As we all know, the situation of this world are changing so fast that we can not make sure whether the job market will hugely change in even a short period, which is quite easy to make it several decades ago. A particularly typical example is English teacher which was a quite hot job in China a decade ago because Chinese began to attach importance to English when China was more open to the world. But it has been out of favor as the job market of English teacher has been almost saturated and there appear more English-learning Apps developed using AI technology which means less human English teachers are needed. So students who chose English as major might get stuck in job hunting if they happened to catch the end of its prosperity.

Moreover, it may backfire if the student just lacks interest in this field. Interest, as we all know, may be the most important factor which determines how well and how long the students go in this field. Supposing a student choose to study the lucrative field like computer science under the influence of the encourage from the university because he or she is lost and has no career plan at that time, he or she may find it is so boring and abstruse that he or she can not tolerate it anymore. How could we expect a student like that could learn it well enough to have a decent job whereby it and contribute to this society?

To sum up, I mostly object to the statement these reasons mentioned above, while it has a good intention. Instead, I would like to put up an alternative one that students can balance the interest and career prospect when they choose their majors.