Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their national state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Environmental protection has always been a hot issue for most of the countries, and it also attracts enormous attentions from the public. Given that moral disciplines are sometimes not effective enough, some people argue that laws should be passed to protect any remaining wilderness areas even if they can be exploited for economic benefits. While I agree that laws are needed to protect these areas, I mostly object to this statement because it is so blind and absolute that it ignores the consequences it may bring.

First, it just wastes time and resources to specialy legislate for some remote and bleak wilderness areas where nobody even wants to explores. For instance, no one would like to exploit some deserts in China: these places not only difficult to get in and dangerous, but also lack resources. If we enact a law for it, it will not contribute anything but undermines the authority of the legislature, and the money and time could be more useful on other places.

Besides, it will conflict with the local people who depends on the primitive areas all the time. It is a particularly salient example that the primitive tribes in the Amazon Rain Forest which lives there for hundreds of years have been a part of this system. First, will it be fair enogh that people live outside the forest legislate for the natives who have been there from generation to generation. And they will try their best to fight with the law-executors because this is their only motherland and may be slaughtered because what they only have are primitive weapons. What is worse, it will cause humanitarian crisis since they just live there and do no harm to the forest. Even in some rural areas in China where there are some laws protecting some kind of animal or plant, people will break the laws to steal and hunt them because of poverty and bad supervision. Instead, we can build some of these palces as tourist attractions so that local people will not destroy but protect them because the natives make more money whereby these palces. These examples also show that it is unrealistic ridiculous to fully execute as the statement claims.

Furthmore, precious chance of developemnt will be missed if we do not exploit these areas properly. For example, there is a huge amount of natural resources in the wild like grass, woods, and etc. which will be wasted even if we do not make use of them. Indeed, resources like these can generate by themselves with energy originally coming from the Sun and wilderness areas can be well preserved as long as we human manage these palces under the scientific guidance. And the money we gain from the natural resources can also be used to developed technology which, in turn, can improve the environment. Recently, Chinese scientists have claimed that they have succeeded in developing the technology changing the desert into the grass land.

From all discussed above, while I agree laws are needed to protect the wild, I generally disagree this statement as result of its consequences mentioned above. Alternative suggestion are too complex to talk about in this writing though I have mentioned some in this writing.