Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

"Duck-stuffing" teaching, which was once extremely hot in the field of Chinese education several years ago, was used to criticize the formal education in most schools in China because most teachers even teachers of science and engineering just simply repeated what book said without guiding students how to think critically. This statement argues that formal education are more likely to constrain our minds and spirits instead of setting them free. While I admit some kinds of formal education like "duck-stuffing" teaching may really suit the statement, I mostly disagree with it mainly for two reasons.

There is no doubt that formal education like "duck-stuffing" teaching can do harm to the curiosity and creativity of the students. Teachers in that sort of classes, as is often the case, just care about the tests for some reasons and teach by retelling the textbooks. And most students learn by rote, dare not to question when sometimes they disagree with the teachers or textbooks, and do not actively extend their knowledge according what they are interested in the topics in the textbooks, because rote seems the most efficient way of getting a higher score. Gradually, the interest which inspires us to go on pursuing the truth and the creativity which helps us unravel the puzzles disappear. This can partially explain why many student in China lack inspiration and creativity even if they seem good at study in view of their high scores.

However, formal education does not equal to rigid education and it can also be flexible and specially designed for some kind of students even individual student to inspire their curiosity and guide them how to think critically and creatively. For instance, Sweden, which has one of the best education systems in this world, advocates learning in games. Primary school students in this system may take their classes outside the classrooms and observe the nature by themselves. They may be curious about why leaves are green, share their original guesses with each other, and judge these hypotheses. Not only will they enjoy studying, but also their curiosity about nature and the ability of thinking grows.

What is more, formal education like traditional teaching in China can in some cases help us really understand fundamental laws and thus be more creative by a huge amount of practice. Creativity to some extent can not live without enough basic facts and fundamental theories. Elon Musk who is no doubt one of the best creative person in this world once said: if we wanted to be more creative, we had better think from the first principles which means the very basic laws like Newton's laws instead of its derivative. A particularly salient example is the biophysics which is a rather complicated interdisciplinary field full of basic biological facts and fundamental physical laws. The famous scientists in this field like Zhuang Xiaowei, Shi Yigong usually master these laws and facts, so they can do some original breakthroughs.

To sum up, whereas the statement has its reason, I mostly disagree with it because it misunderstands formal education as some traditional rigid teachings and even these rigid teachings can sometimes help us be more creative.