Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times,and places.

It aroused a hot discussion in zhihu, a Chinese Quora that Zhang Koukou was sentenced to death because he killed three criminals who abused and killed his mother 20 years ago in front of him when he was just a child and escaped from deserved punishment through bribery. And some people thought the death penalty was too severe though he violated the law. The statement argues that laws should be flexible enough to take different kinds of circumstances, times, and places into consideration. I mostly agree this statement because while laws should be flexible enough in theory and indeed progress in that direction, they can never be perfectly complete in practice.

Before elaborating on my reasoning, I would like share some of my understanding of laws. Justice and equality which are no doubt the core of the laws are indeed based on people's values. As we all know, the public's values changes from the ancient times to modern times, from eastern countries to western countries and can not come to an agreement.

Laws should take a new circumstance into consideration if it just benefits some kind of group and do no harm or little harm to other groups. It is a particularly salient example that many countries and areas have passed the laws to recognize the third gender. Obvious is the fact that this group almost does no harm to this society and they just want to get recognized and live as others. Besides, it's also a huge progress of human civilization to be more tolerant with differences. So why don't laws give them deserved respect considering that the goal of laws is justice and equality.

However, laws can never be flexible enough to take account of all cases because people's values vary and new cases appear as the time goes on. For instance, it is hard for an area where hostile religious group are the major residents like the Middle East to pass a law to constrain and protect all of them because they discriminate against each other because of their religious values. As is often the case, a law considered as a fair and judical one by one religious group can be criticized by another group according to their own values. What is more, there is always new case as the time goes on, which is beyond the legislature's prediction. Foe example, Chinese government would never know that it would abolish the one-child policy some day several decades ago when it passed a law to ban more than two children in a family. For the same reason, who knows what will happen in the future and how will the laws changes with times.

To sum up, I mostly agree the statement because enough flexible laws to protect the justice and equality of more people is the goal we are working for whereas laws can not be perfectly complete as the result of the limitation of times and differences of values.