Some people believe that college students should consider their own talents and interests when choosing a field of a study. Others believe that base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

It has always be problem how to choose a suitable major for some freshmen especially for those who do not have a clear plan of the future. Some people argue that college students should take talents and interests into consideration when they choose a major. Some other people suggest that the availability of jobs in that field should be put into the first place. While my stance aligns more closely with the former, there are some differences between them.

It may benefit both the society and the individuals when students choose their majors based on the availability of jobs. As is often the case, the more easily we can get a job in a field, the more urgently the society needs it. A particularly salient example is the computer science. A student from the computer science department can easily get a decent job with a salary up to 15,000 RMB in China which is much higher than that of most majors even if he just graduates from the university. And he can live a rather comfortable life with this salary. What is more, the modern society which can not develop without computer science needs talents of computer science urgently. Famous companies like HuaWei and Alibaba even hold competitions in this field with a huge amount of money as the prize up tp 1 million RMB and they also offer extremely well-paid positions for these winners. In return, these companies also have a rapid development in the fields related to computer science. For instance, HuaWei has been the pioneer of the 5G technology with the most patents, which is the next generation of communication technology. And the artificial intelligence (AI) of Alibaba has been first-class in this world though China started late in this field, which has been combined with other fields and has brought tremendous amount of breakthroughs like driverless cars and facial recognition. These example illustrate that it benefit both sides when students choose study of the field in view of the job availability because it suits supply demand relationship.

However, interest as the best tutor of study and talents decide how long we can stay in a field and how well we can do in this field. There are so many living example that students who just hates math choose the artificial intelligence because of its good career prospects finally end up with withdrawal from universities or dismissal from companies. Even if they can really find a high-salary job, he will not be happy to be tolerant with a disgusting field for so many years. And students like Feynman who chose an unpopular field like theoretic physics at his time out of interest could also be a legend and had a comfortable life. Even if most scientists can not compare with Feynman, they can also enjoy the pleasure of explaining this world by physics. These examples show that if we really want to pursue the happiness in spirit, we had better take interests and talents into consideration when choosing a field of study.

Indeed, these two suggestions do not necessarily exclusive with each other. As is often the case, we usually have many different fields which we are interested in. We can choose one field or related field which has a good career prospect and we are interested in.

To sum up, my stance that students can balance the interest and the job availability with of course interest put into the first place aligns more closely with the first statement.