In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first
being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with
the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or
might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
The statement linking new significant contributions negatively with past achievements is
long debated upon. The prompt suggests that to make a noteworthy addition in
any field, one has to be strongly influenced by the work already done. In my opinion,
this statement is too extreme and I mostly disagree with it and argue that one can
always come up with a world-changing idea in a field which is untouched by humanity.
Internet is a place where one can easily establish oneself. But, to keep
constantly growing while maintaining strong roots is a challenging task and this cannot
be achieved without putting up a fight. For example, when Mark Zuckerberg created
Facebook it was not as big as it is today. But he kept on working hard on it to get it
where it is today. When Facebook was invented, the world had not seen anything of
that sort before. No one had ever created a space for anyone to come out and post
whatever they would like. Mark Zuckerberg had developed this idea all by himself
because nothing significant like Facebook was created before. This shows us that there
is no need to be surrounded by past achievements in order to free our brains and think
in a way that no-one ever has.
In contrast to the statement, we all know that 'Necessity is the Mother of
Inventions'. Consider how the need for something has always led to the emergence of
great ideas like the use of fire or the wheel. If people only made significant contributions
into fields that have already been aced by others we might not ever get new milestones
in those fields that lack past achievements. The field of Arts requires focus and
determination along with constant hard work. There are many artists who have come
up from the bottom and reached the skies only because of some novelty in their style
which is uninspired by others.
However, one might say that inspiration is a road if taken by anyone can lead to a palace
of new heights. This ideology can sometimes be true. For example, a sport like Soccer
has had outstanding players right from the start. And these players have motivated new
younger players to work hard to establish themselves as the new Lionel Messi or Pele or
Maradona. Sometimes past achievements do play a vital role in disclosing new
milestones the human brain or the human body can meet. As a result, the statement
can be considered to be true sometimes.
Hard work is such a tool which, if used with determination can overcome the limits set
by the world. The above statement can be considered as a fairly complex issue and
there is no one specific answer to it. People can always achieve anything in any field; be
it inspired from the past, or in a totally new one.