Do you agree/disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children
less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support
your answer.
Some people say that technology has had a negative impact on the minds of children
and made them less creative. They cite this viewpoint on the basis of how easy things
have become because of technology. However, I disagree with these people and I think
that technology has come as a boon to children and pushes children to get out of their
comfort zones and become more creative. I will support my point of view with two
reasons.
First of all, technology positively impacts the actions of young children because it has
the ability to bring the whole world to just a laptop. As a result, children can get a vast
exposure to different areas of studies and arts in a small duration of time. For example,
online courses and fun and creative videos on the internet can provide a child with
many new concepts which the child had never thought of, and thus, after being
exposed to such information his brain starts to develop though processes that in-turn
make a child more creative. In the past, before the advent of internet into the lives of
children, they were only exposed to ideas promoted by their parents and teachers.
These limited ideas caused their creative power to stick to a very restricted path. Thus,
because of the internet children nowadays can think and work on whatever they want
by learning things from around the globe with just a click of a button.
Second of all, advancements in the field of technology has made it possible to
manufacture devices such as musical instruments, microscopes, telescopes, and a lot of
other equipment at a much cheaper rate. For example, parents can now afford to buy a
telescope for their child and let him explore the vastness of the outer-space. Before
these technological improvements, parents could never think of getting a telescope for
their kids as it would cost a fortune, and as result, children could never take a look at
how planets and moons really look like apart from just seeing their pictures in the
textbooks. This would limit a child's brain to just think around the book as it was only
exposed to a mere book. But now that is not the case. Getting hands-on experience has
become very easy and this has a direct impact of how creative a child's brain can get.
Thus, according to me the world of technology has boosted the creative side of a child
upto ten-folds.
To conclude, technology has had multiple effects of human life. Some maybe bad, but
some are surely positive and enrich human lives. In my opinion technology has had its
positive effects on how children learn new things and how their brains get trained every
day to become more creative than the previous day.