Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no

speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Events that lead to a major blow to a nation or the world is unwanted by everyone on the macro level. But deep down they help us to better equip ourselves and be ready if a similar situation arises in the future. If reformers or speakers just keep proposing ideas and solutions without a solid example, very few people might pay attention to it. Solid examples are necessary. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion presented for two reasons.

As one can always say that 'education' is one of the pillars of a strong and developed economy, it may sometimes develop cracks in it. And, the nation as a whole - government and the citizens have to bare its price. A scandal in the field of education can surely have long-lasting impacts on the entire country. For example, if a plot involving dishonest exam setters who might leak out the question papers before the exam to students who can pay them large amounts of money can result into snatching away fair education from deserving candidates. A candidate who might have put in 50 hours to prepare for the exam might score lower than his/her counterpart who just paid some amount of money and got the exam paper the night before the exam. This is a major event which will surely lead to outrage in the students and parents as well. As a result, the government will be forced into taking actions against such people and pass laws which will prevent such things from happening in the future. Just because such an event happened the government would pass necessary laws. If a mere champion of placing every aspect of education under scrutiny would have held talks on this topic without an example, probably the people and the government would pay no heed to him. Thus, a scandal which leads to something unfair can draw the attention of the entire world to it and this may result in its prevention in the future.

Industrial Scandals are not uncommon. Factories sometimes ease out on safety measures just to increase their profit but they do not think about the degradation of the local as well as the global environment in the long run. One such example is the event or one may call it an 'Industrial Scandal' of Bhopal Gas Tragedy. The tragedy that killed thousands of local citizens of Bhopal, India. Various documentaries cite various reasons which led to this event of letting out huge amounts of poisonous gas into the air. But the majority of the investigations point towards pure negligence of that factory. Similarly in this case also, many environmentalists protested the presence of such a hazardous factory in the middle of the town, but no solid actions were taken until the tragedy happened. Because of this event, the locals and the national government were forced to take actions and as a result, the factory was shut down. Hence, we can see that solid events are necessary to open the eyes of the people.

Some might say, scandals can often lead to loss of life and property and they are completely unnecessary events in history. But man is an animal who believes in what he sees more than in what he hears. Thus, if a scandal takes place, the people get familiarized with the events which they may have never thought of. And thus, will be forced to take correct steps right from the start the next time the same situation arises. 'Scandals should never occur' - is a statement that has no grounds. Events that open the eyes of people and government are sometimes necessary as this can lead to a proper practice of the proverb - 'Prevention is better than Cure' in the coming future.