The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

I think it is unfair generalisation best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things as in engineering colleges those who adopt computer science and information technology have a keen interest in coding goes in 9 to 5 job which never feels boring for them because they have fervor in that subjects so they discuss with other employees and generate different types of algorithm which are may give a optimal solution really very fast.As we our great cricketors which get to know some different batting stance on the pitch itself while playing which could be very useful to act as defensive jn front of opponents dangerous swing bowling.Like different actors after doing practice at their commonplace get to know different ideas from act of other actors.

But their many enterpreneur who got ideas to form a company or startup in their college or cafe .Their many scientist who got ideas while under a tree like newton on his head an apple suddenly falls which give him information about gravitational force,as by different experiments and empirical methods he got know the free fall time of heavy and low weighted body.There are many buisness tycoons who got their unique ideas while walking in a garden or while in brainstorming session with their friends.

So i conclude by saying that its not neccesary that ideas from a passionate interest will come in commonplace things only.