The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

It may be a common belief that ideas arise only from the most quiddities of things, but I think its only a misconception. Ideas, that may transform societies or germinate masterpieces, can fledge from even the tritest of items.

A bird is flying in the air. This observation is as simple as it can be. It is so banal that if you are found pondering on that, people will take you as an inane. But, the same observation is what inspired the Wright brothers to invent their first aeroplane. Similarly, Mona Lisa, as we know it, is the masterpiece painted by Leonardo Da Vinci during the Renaissance period. This simple lady, not even the most beautiful of a woman, ended up inspiring one of the most beautiful paintings the world has ever witnessed.

If ideas develop from simple common items, then why is it that we don't see so many unique ideas striking in people? It's a question sceptics may pose. But, it needs to be understood that it is not just plain hackneyed items than develops into beautiful ideas. There need be passion. Only a passionate person can see every nuance of difference in even the most similar items. Only an aficionado will know every minutia of that which he loves.

It is true that ideas arise from non-common things too. We can't ignore the various complicated inventions brought up by the scientists or such arts known for their own distinctivity and oddity. However, the best of them, and the most practical of them, almost always arise from the quotidian world, sculpted to precision by their own zealous practitioners.

To sum it all up, unique ideas don't always germinate from unique items. That which is required is to have a genuine interest in the subject, and a desire to do something new. With that, only true zealots see what normal people don't and formulate ideas that normal people can't.