the best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

The claim linking the persuasive power of an argument with its veracity standards, or the test, so to speak, is not necessarily true. And the reasoning to bolster this thinking that defending an idea from doubts is the pathway to discover its values is somewhat misplaced.

First, convincing a person with different even opposing mindset is no doubt a triumphal feat, but there is no guarantee that persuasion leads to disillusion. Medieval pulpits and religious pundits are perhaps the most convincing people in their time, instilling Christians the ‘truth’ that heaven is waiting good men above the cloud and inferno is prepared for the sinned. Believers value the whole edifice with extreme seriousness that they even debated about how many angels can be accommodated in the tip of a needle.

But we now know it’s all but a hoax and no dead were ever raised. Because debating and persuasion are inextricably tied to certain person with effective mouth, turning a million heads to conviction means anything but truth.

Conversely, the verisimilitude of an argument does not lend the power to converting minds. Sun-centered universe theory is quite closer to truth without a doubt, but earth-centered world seems a lot more logical and straight forward. Complicated calculations and numerous observations to support that sun-centered theory are absolutely certifiable, however, people that won’t listen do not listen. To test the effectiveness of any theory or argument means not to resort to public belief, but to endure nature’s unwavering proceeding, to see it’s next move and the next after it without stretching.

Moreover, recognizing the values of an idea by defending it could be dangerous to the real thought. Picking a predetermined stance and to defend it without thorough reckoning beforehand could leads to role playing. People at debate contest don’t need to believe what they defend, as long as they win the game. Plus, human behaviors are intrinsically based on emotional impulse, so that the disgust to defeat and possible humiliation inflicted could damage a lot to people’s ability to reason properly.

All being said, convincing people with contrasting views absolutely demonstrates the popularity of current ideas, while it may indicates the verity of those ideas, it’s unwise to extrapolate that acceptance to the range of truth and dictum.