The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world is filled with people with diverse opinions. One person might take the side of an opinion while the other might take the opposite view. The prompt suggests that an argument can be tested based on its ability to persuade the opposition. In my opinion, this view is true in most of the cases, but there are certain situations where the statement might not hold.

To begin, an argument's strength can be evaluated based on how effective it is in espousing the opposition camp. The more opposers that the argument is able to convince the better the argument is. The reason for this is that the people opposing the view will try their best to downplay the argument put forward by their opponents. However, if the argument is able to withstand their opposing viewpoints then it is clear that the argument is able to convince them, which demonstrates its strength of persuasion. To clarify, consider the case of a graduate student applying to pursue his PhD, where admission officers are always on a watch to reject those profiles they deem not suitable to gain admission in their program. In such a situation, it is the argument that the student puts forward in terms of his statement of purpose or resume, that determines their chances of admission. Here, if the student was able to persuade the admissions officer through his argument, then it is clearly an indicator of the strength of his argument. According to the example, it is clear that the strength of an argument can be tested by its power to persuade the opposition.

Furthermore, when the argument is able to convince the opponents, then it can be assumed that the argument has no flaws. In fact, the person was able to construct a strong argument such that even the arguers of the viewpoint could not find an issue to target. Consider the case of scientists who are always questioned by newspapers, governments about the credibility of their research. However, when a scientist comes up with a strong reason for his research even the newspapers who first condemned has to accept the proposal. For instance, when DR APJ Abdul Kalam set out to develop missiles for India, most of the newspapers criticized him, but when he came up with the reasons, as for why the country needs to go ahead with the research, even the opposers had to accept his strong argument. Hence, to say that an argument can be tested by its ability to persuade the opposition is true.

However, there are certain situations where it testing an argument based on its persuasive power is not valid. The world is filled with stubborn people who do not accept any view that opposes their own. In such a case, would measure the strength of an argument by the method suggest hold? No, it will not. For example, even today with many proofs that support that Earth has a spherical shape, many people still consider Earth to be flat. No amount of scientific proofs were able to persuade these people. Therefore, testing an argument solely on the basis of convincing power is not always correct.

To sum up, although measuring the ability of an argument on the basis of its ability to convince the opposition camp is valid in may scenarios, depending solely on it is not suitable for every occasion due to the facts mentioned above.