THE BEST WAY FOR SOCIETY TO PREPARE IT’S YOUNG PEOPLE FOR LEADERSHIP IN GOVERNMENT, INDUSTRY OR OTHER FIELDS IS BY INSTILLING IN THEM A SENSE OF COOPERATION NOT COMPETITION.

It is said that, a good leader can never be seen from a distance. This is not because he doesn’t participate but because he’s in the field, working just as hard as his other team members. The leaders of our society must be bred by instilling values of cooperation and not competition. I strongly support the idea of cooperation holding more power in this regard for three reasons.

Firstly, the nature of competition is extremely problematic as it turns power into more or less, a pervasive thing and in turn breeds hostility. For example - During the Mughal Sultanate rule, heirs to the throne were always at each other's’ throats in an attempt to gain the favor of the king in the name of meritocracy. This often resulted in Mughal princes dying in mysterious circumstances.In an attempt to assume leadership roles, competition festers and breeds negative emotions towards those one is competing against which in turn creates an unconducive environment for work and more often than not engenders tyrants.

Secondly, Instilling values of cooperation and collaboration gets rid of this supposed thirst for power that engulfs humans and value the concept of community and teamwork more. For example: In an anarchist state people would make decisions together without one person’s perspective taking precedence over the other.This allows people to be connected with each other and work as a team of equals aspiring for welfare as they’re open to differing perspectives, constantly looking towards the best way to accommodate them and not seek power as the concept in of itself takes a backseat.

Thirdly, Working together helps build essential emotional skills required by a leader. For example: Kim Jong Un has lived a life of a prince behind closed doors as North Korea suffers.Since, he’s never seen, lived or experienced the rampant poverty that plagues North Korea it becomes hard for a man like him to even process what it feels like and that is reflected in the nature of his approach towards agricultural and political policies. Collaboration helps build understanding and empathy which are essential for leaders of our society as distant leaders turn into something else entirely and leave the welfare behind.

Some argue that it is the very nature of existence to be competitive.”Survival of the fittest”, they say. However, humans have defied nature over and over again simply by walking on two feet let alone creating complex societies. In conclusion, the only way towards harmony and peace is to have our society instill values of cooperation, teamwork and collaboration for the world needs people to hold it together not conquer it.