The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Not everyone can be good leaders. Certain qualities in a person would make him outstand from the rest and be noted as good leaders. For some these leadership qualities are inborn while some acquire these through experience and exposure. In training or cultivating leadership qualities among young people, cooperation and competition are two most significant factors. Both these are absolutely necessary qualities of a leader. But is cooperation the best way to prepare leaders? Wouldn't competition play a vital role? I believe that although cooperation is an essential fact it is not the best way as competition is also vital to bring out qualities of a leader.

Cooperation is essential for a leader. Through cooperation and working as a team young leaders get to value the efforts of others, appreciate others and to communicate better, support others in need and move forward as a unit. Cooperation prepares the young leaders to be receptive, open minded and be liberal. These are important in future as then the leaders have the quality to brainstorm and come up with better solutions to a problem. Through cooperation it prepares the young generation to work as a team.

As much as cooperation is vital, competition too plays an impeccable part in preparing future leaders. What I mean by competition is healthy competition. Not the aggressive competition where children do anything possible to drag others down and be happy in one’s downfall. Healthy competition is what drives us forward. What makes us want to work hard to retain or upgrade our current position. The healthy competition between Microsoft and Apple Inc. compelled both companies to improve their technology, to come up with innovative ideas and in a way helped the success of both companies. Bill Gates himself once claimed that “competition was a positive thing”. Competition constantly reminds us that if we fall behind the others would pass us and would take our position. It puts us in a challenging situation and would demand our best to get over the situation. This understanding is vital to leadership. In real world we are constantly faced with rival challenges. In industry every company tries to outshine the other. The best way to learn to face these challenges are by facing competition from a young age. Then the young leaders get to know how to work under competition pressure, how to guide subordinates to face the challenges in a competitive situation and to think clearly and to come up with strategies to overcome challenges. These qualities can only be achieved by having first-hand experience on facing competition.

Therefore in conclusion I believe that combination of cooperation and healthy competition would better prepare a leader than just having a sense of cooperation.