The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Due to the onset of globalisation, the world has been shrinking and everyone in this contemporary world is more connected, both physically and virtually. With that in mind, it is a common sight that most fields will have more than one leader running the organisation. Hence, I agree to a large extent whereby society can prepare its young people for leadership in any fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation. However, we should not completely dismiss the importance of competition, since it promotes individual growth and development.

First and foremost, in this age of globalisation, there is seldom any single government, industry, or fields that operates and progresses with a single leader. For example, in an organisation, there are normally multiple directors, managers and leaders that governs a particular group of people. It is a common sight for leaders to work with one another in order to meet their company's goals and objectives. To ensure that this collaboration proceeds efficiently, it is important for all leaders involved to have a sense of cooperation. This allows them to be more open-minded and willing to compromise with others to achieve the final objective. As a result, ensuring that the main beneficiary from this effective and successful collaboration is the company.

Furthermore, to be a successful and well-respected leader, one must be able to work well with others, be it colleagues or subordinates. By having a strong sense of cooperation, a leader will be more of a leader than a manager. A leader with a penchant for teamwork will also motivates his or her subordinates to be more cooperative as well. For instance, in a research group, there will be a leader that oversees the projects and different members that have their own relevant expertise. Thus, it is crucial whereby there is cooperation between the leaders and the members in order for everyone to play their part. Cooperation between leaders and members helps to ensure the members are heard and noticed, which can help to increase their motivation to work. Cooperation and teamwork between different parties helps to overcome any foibles that individuals possess by taking the strengths of others. Hence, ensuring great efficiency and productivity in the team.

Admittedly, a sense of competition is equally important as it drives self-improvements. For example, a leader with only a sense of cooperation and lacks competition may always give in to others and fail to strive for what he feels is best for the company. The lack of competition also may result in stagnation, since leaders are less prone to strive for improvements, both individually and for the company. As a result, due to the lack of competition, it reduces productivity and the motivation in the workplace.

In conclusion, instilling a sense of cooperation and healthy-competition is important to prepare young people for leadership positions in any organisation. Cooperation ensures a healthy and efficient working environment and competition promotes improvements and drives motivation in the workplace. Thus, both are important traits that should be instilled in young people to prepare them for leadership positions.