The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

' It is easier to break a single stick, but hard to break a bundle. '

This sentence reminds one of the farmer's story where the farmer teaches his sons the value of togetherness and cooperation. In the above statement, the author states that it would be the best way to upbring young people if they are taught the value of cooperation, instead of competition. I completely agree with the author on this point.

In today's world, every man wishes to compete with every other man. Be it in the sector of government, industry, education, extra curriculars or wealth, nobody is satisfied with their achievements as they alway compare it to that of others. This should not be the case. We must understand that we can reach new heights and make better achievements if we cooperate with each other. For example, in the field of education, if the parrents stop comparing their students scores with that of their classmates, it would be so great. It is not necessary that all students are good at all subjects. If a student is weak in Mathematics but great at biology, and has a friend who is weak in Biology, but unbeatable at Mathematics, they can cooperate and teach each other. This will not only help them overcome their weaknesses but also make them a better person.

Furthermore, if you see in the field of government, everybody is competing with one another. If a man from the ruling party does something good, instead of supporting the idea, the opposition party will always find loopholes in the idea. This only leads to chaos. If we give rise to a society full of cooperation, this will not be the case. If the ruling party does something good, the opposition party will help the ruling party carry out the task and this will lead the task to its finish line faster and with a greater enthusiasm. Thus, they can do much better for the country and its people by cooperating with one another rather than fighting against one another.

Another example where cooperation can achieve more than competition is the field of technology. When a technical company introduced 4G network in the market, it earned huge profits. Consequently, all other networking companies copied the idea. Their interst in doing so was the profits. This gave path to competition in the market. However, if the other companies would have not copied the idea but instead invested their time and money in some other area where the could have developed something greater, it would lead to the technological advancement of nation. The point made here is that if all the companies come together and decide to make advancements in their own field and cooperate with each other, than no power can stop the technical advancements in that nation.

In the end, we can see that the value of cooperation is almost lost in today's generation. Everybody wants to compete with each other, but nobody has the mentality of cooperating and reaching new heights. This value should be put in the minds of our next generation so that we become a better society.