The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Preparing our young people to be the next great leaders of the world in industries such as government, medicine, and business is important for our mentors, teachers, and parents alike. The future generations will drive society into great endeavors such as those that were accomplished in the past. Hence, it is of utmost importance for that we ensure their success. To a certain extent, competition between young people can encourage them to push one another to become those better world leaders that ignite positive change. However, too much competition may bring about negative factors such as discrimination, low self-confidence, and high levels of stress. In the preparation of our young people to take on new roles and grow both personally and professionally, it is the responsibility of the previous generation to both instill a sense of cooperation and competition in the young.

Competition, as that in sports and academics for example, allows young people to push eachother to strive for the best. Gabby Dougals, long time gymnastic veteran of the Olympics, stated that her new team, which included the Laurie Hernandez and the like, pushed her to become a better gymnist. Without the continual sense of breaking the boundries of what is traditionally accepted in the gymnastics world, these girls would have never been able to achieve the standards to which they showed themselves to have obtained at Rio in 2016. Furthermore, our education systems highly benefit from an instilled sense of competition that students have in the academic world. From National Merit Scholars to the Scripps International Spelling Bee, all of these competitions give our students the opportunity to thrive under pressure in order to build the necessary skills to potentially one day be world leaders themselves. Whether it be the competition for next groundbreaking peice of technology or life saving surgery, the possibilities of our future generations is truly endless. However, despite these benefits of competition, too much competitiveness can also cause harm to the students.

Anything taken to an extreme can become a bad thing. Competition is not any different. Too much competitiveness may sometimes become so severe to a point that it affects an individual's health beyond day-to-day stress or causes, in some cases, bullying or any other form of discrimination against a group or individual. Competition may most definitely harm students if they become too stressed over "winning" or "being the best." Furthermore, adverse skill sets such compromising morals to come out on top or ordering others around may arise. If competition is to drive one individual to hurt another in order to "win," it can even become dangerous. Such as in the case of famous skater, Tonya Harding, who was accused of having her primary competitor's skin slashed is a clear example of this harm.

When competition becomes too much for our students to handle amongst themselves or others, it is the perfect time to intervene by encouraging a sense of cooperation. Many jobs in today's markey require such skills as working with others from engineers and scientists to nurses and construction workers. Teamwork can be extremely beneficial by encouraging specific skills such as time management, project completion, and communication. In order to be a leader in any any job effectively, one must also undoubtedly be a collaborator.

Our young students are growing up in a world that is constantly changing, one that they will have to adapt to in their leadership and cooperation skills. Without both, they are not set up for true success in government, industry, or academia, all of which encourage individual's to pave the way for the greatest, but also bring others with them to that greateness. The best way for society to prepare these young students for the future is by instilling in them a sense of healthy competition that allows them to cooperate with eachother in order to create the projects and plans that will catapult the world into a new era.