The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

From the dawn of humanity, every community has needed a true leader. There has been a long controversy as to what characteristic a successful leader should enjoy and how the youth should be prepared for leadership. As far as I am concerned, while I believe there is no single "best" charectristic to be a leader, a sense of cooperation as well as competition are necessary.

Like pieces of a modern computer or automobile which need to work together consistantly, every team, with no exception, needs to hone cooperation. In this regard, a leader, as the head of the team, needs to have the charectristic even more. Nowadays, computer engineers and programmers have to work consistantly with each other in every step of developing a piece of software: planning, coding, deboging, to name but three. The manager of a programming company needs to not only work with every member but also teach to his/her team how to work together. This is also true for other fields. The presendent of a country must enjoy the skills of teamwork to be able to work with every part of the government.

Pushing the members of a team, competion also is essential to every team. Members of a team should have this sence to enhance themselves. A sence of competion makes a football player to keep practicing in order to be better than not only his teammates but also players of other teams. The very desire to be the best makes a member of a scientist team to stay up late. Leader of a team must have this sprit to hone this charectristic in his subordinates. Moreover, in order for a team to surpass its rivals, the leader needs this essential sprit to make his/her best.

A leader who knows only how to compete but not how to cooperate fails to succeed. Imagin an orchest leader only desires to be the best, but does not know how to intract with his/her member. During a performance, no mater how hard he/she tries, as long as he/she does not work with the members consistantly, the performance will be a fiasco. Also if this leader does not know how to compete, even if he/she can cooperate with his/her members, his/her team will not be the best.

To sum up, in my opinion, a leader must have many charectersitic among which a sence of cooperation and competition are the most essentials.