The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Young people today are the leaders of the future. This makes it quintessential for the society to instill good values in the youth. The fight for power has brought down nations in the history. The the fight for power in India during its independence led to its separation and the ago old feud since. Both countries spend a lot of their annual budget to keep up border security. There have been wars between the two nations and the only the innocent families of people who had no involvement in the decision for separation have suffered.

The competition for leadership stems the progress of the society. The rivalry between segments of people have taken millions of lives over the years. This competitiveness has led to separation of communities and is the main reason people treat each other differently.

In a world where leaders cooperate, there would be harmony everywhere. When there is harmony, people have one less issue to worry about and can focus on their betterment and the society. The whole organization progresses.

While it is clear that we should teach these nascent leaders cooperation over competition, I believe this is very hard to achieve practically. Humans are inherently greedy. Everyone thinks for themselves first and then for others. Leadership translates to power and who doesn’t want power in their hands? One would rather choose unfair practices over cooperation if it gets them power. This greed leads to competition.

The best alternate the society has is to teach the youth to distinguish between right and wrong so that even in competition people understand the boundaries and take decisions that are best for everyone.