The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

While a sense of competition is something that has been seen throughout every industry, it is cooperation that allows all to prosper to the fullest extent. In order to set our society's future up for success in any sector, it is vital that they are taught how to work together. By doing so, noy only is the individual able to grow, but also help society as a whole be lifted towards greater success.

An immediate benefit to cooperation is the skills that are developed in the process. For an individual to work within a group effectively, they must learn to express themselves proficiently, understand different viewpoints, and learn to compromise. A great leader uses these skills to maintain high morale and productivity from those around them in order to push their field forward. This is demonstrated in many successful technological companies such as Google. Google encourages collaboration not only through team projects, but they also have many walls in their offices made of glass to exemplify an open workspace.

Beyond the benefits for the individuals and companies themselves, there are immense incentives for all of those within a particular field to cooperate. While some may claim that competition forces all involved to move forward, this is not the case. This is exemplified in the United States government, where bipartisanship has resulted in decisions being made in order to gain re-election instead of passing effective legislation. If cooperation was instilled instead, those in power at all levels would fight to benefit the majority instead of seeking personal gain.

Competition has resulted in countless communities being left behind as the few succeed. The most effective way to move everyone forward is to emphasize the importance of cooperation from this point on. By doing so, individuals gain invaluable skills that continue to push them forward without ignoring what everyone around them can bring to the conversation.