The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition.

What is leadership? What are the traits of a good leader? What are the aspects needed to prepare for leadership? The answers to these questions will define what will be the best way for a society to prepare its young people. A leader is not just the boss of an organization; a leader is not just the head of a government or industry. A leader is someone who has supreme hand in terms of knowledge, trust, unity and grit. Only a person with such traits make up a good leader. Thus, what exactly defines a leader? His traits.

The heirarchial position of that person does not denote a leader. A leader is not a person who browbeats people, point out their shortcomings and turn an insoucient ear to their needs. Thus a leader should have compassion, profound knowledge, efficient articulation skills and a sense of responsibility. A leader is someone who while leading and guiding the people, caters their needs and requirements and voices them in a way that is demanding and empathetic. Then, how to become a leader? Will becoming the head of the organisation be enough? The answer is, as we can see, no.Then if not by climbing the corporate ladder, how to become a leader?

Aggressively climibing up ranks willl not produce a good leader. A good example will be heads of political parties who are corrupt and supercillious in comparison to the local legislative members who are in more touch with the people and their needs. While to implement improvements in an effficient manner, a higher position in the 'corporate chain' maybe needed, being a leader does not solely depend on it. Anyone with an empathetic outlook, knowledge and a sense of responsibility can be a leader.

Based on the explanantions given above, I declare that while instiling a sense of competition will result in rising higher in the rank ladder, ultimately leading to a head of the organization, producing a leader goes further than that. Thus the statement claiming that the best way to prepare for leadership is by instilling a cooperation rather than competition is a sensible and empowering one.