The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The mammoth task of effectively training tomorrow's minds is, to a large extent, not different from setting the course for a country's future prospects. Cultural differences notwithstanding, the attitude that youth develop towards competition is a decisive factor with respect to their work ethic later in life. While instilling both cooperative and competitive behaviours each comes with its own merits, an umbrella approach of only inculcating one of these two is not completely warranted.

In spite of a genial learning environment creating a conducive atmosphere for children by encouraging collaboration, they would be left unprepared to handle challenges of adulthood. Additionally, a certain amount of healthy competition is essential to prevent stagnation of learning enthusiasm, especially in cases where competition among students is discouraged. Competition, at its core, provides a strong incentive for high achievement among peer groups due to social pressures. Leadership roles require dealing with challenges on a day-to-day basis, and surely not all of them would be resolvable through collaboration.

As a case in point, consider the education system in South Korea. Following more than a decade of intensive schooling, a nationwide entrance examination is conducted and only the best students get through to pursue higher studies at elite insititutions. Similarly, Japan encourages academic competition (granted, it is sometimes seen as excessive), right from the high school level in order to ensure a high passing average among students. The blatant drawback of these countries' systems is the increased incidence of mental health issues among students at the cost of being one of the most highly educated nations.

On the flip side, European countries like Germany and France do not see learning as a competition - in fact, discourses among children are encouraged to develop unique perspectives which, otherwise, may not have come up individually. The effectiveness of this system needs no testament as the global impact of these countries on research is widely known. But, ignoring the competition has hindered students of these countries from arguably having a commensurately significant footfall in the highest levels of global organisations, such as the World Bank, IMF, or UN.

The fact of the matter is, at the highest levels of bureaucracy and white-collar professions, competition is inevitable. Enmity among peers and workplace politics are prevalent even among common nine-to-five jobs. Any country denying so by neglecting the competition factor in their education system is only shooting itself in the back. A healthy degree of the competition should be encouraged from a young age. However, this should not be at the cost of developing teamwork skills that are equally essential in workplaces. Competition creates incentive, and cooperation teaches essential soft skills.