The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Young people need to be thought and prepared for leadership, else they might fall into same mistakes falllen into by their predecessors. History have it that societies that refuse to prepare their young once for leadership inevitably witness a catastrophic end either of the society itself or that of good leadership.

The approach used in preparing the young people varies between competition and corporation mindset. While competition mindset may have its inherent downside, it has proven to be the most effective way to prepare young people for leadership. Corporation definitely has its upside as well.

On competition and leadership

Repeated findings in the work of psychologists, anthropologists and economics has found again and again that a sense of competition is most potent force to drive human innovation in history. Andrew Canegie has been creadited for instilling a sense of competition in his workers whenever needs a work done under a tight constrait and this has worked potently. Leadership in a society is the art of moving a society forward for maximum effectiveness. When a young folks are made to realize that nothing is given, but a contest, it drives them to work harder and bring out the best in themselves.

Two communities in a common tale from my part of the world illustrates this better. One communities encourage corporation above all else and the other competition above all else. The former ended up breading conformist young people while the later innovative young folks capable of reimaging the possible.

One the flip of the coin though, one may argue that corporation is the spirit upon which young folks should be thought in preparing them for leadership. This is on the premise that the sense of corporation helps younger people to be humane while leading. Humaness is poignant but the need for society to move forward as ensured by competion is more of the responsibility of a leader. Tough decisions will have to be made and weaklings may not be able to do that.