The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Whether to cooperate or compete is a classic conflict not just in the human world, but also the animal kingdom. While it is better to compete for resources, and monopolize them for oneself and one's closest kin, because it would lead to one's own survival, cooperation helps in survival of the species. If there is one pie, one may eat the whole thing and survive for two days, but may share with others and help five people survive. Game theroists have called cooperation a zero sum game, in the sense that cooperation is beneficial for every party involved.

There is no doubt that young people and the morals and values instilled in them would reflect on how society functions in the furture. They would make decisions and help the society as a whole grow- whether it be through the policies that they make in the government, or the strategies they implement for the economy. Thus, instilling in them a sense of cooperation would only serve to benefit the society of which they are a part of. For example, cooperation would help in building better governments, and in turn a better world modelled for world peace, and better global relations. In industries, it would reduce unhealthy competiotion and bringing in a diverse mindset would help in fostering innovation. A cooperative economic environment would build on trust and ethics. Similarly, other fields like academia would only benefit frooperation, because in the case of a cooperative environmenteny would only help in bettering the state of science- wheteher it be interdisciplinary, or cross cultural research.

Agreed, competition might drive people to one up each other, leading to better technology, better science, and better economies. However, in many cases, competion leads to anxiety. Competion may also be unhealthy on a lot of fronts, and this would not be beneficial on a larger scale. There is always the possibility of a 'winner' and a 'loser' and in most cases, the 'loser' gets nothing, while the 'winner' takes home the bounty. While this may seem fair, it may also bolster unethical means of 'winning' the game. It is also in the benefit of the society as a whole that there be no one 'winner' and a hundred 'losers'.

Thus, the best way to prepare young individuals for leadership is by instilling a sense of cooperation, as it would lead to a better, more trustworthy world, wherein the leaders of tommorrow would not just be focused on their own issue, but the betterment of the world, as a whole.