the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Elon Musk once said in a world trade conference "A successful team always require a good co-operative leader". A leader should always lead the team by getting engaged with the employees and not just by only assigning tasks. However, in some fields a sense of competition is more important then cooperation for a leader. The above prompt states that for a society to prepare for young talent should encourage them by a sense of cooperation and not competition. I partially agree with the author for the following reasons

For the first view, the sense of cooperation is necessary for a leader, take the example of a product manufacturing firm, suppose a machine is being made by a company, they divide the employees into different departments. Each department coordinates other departments and performs their job accordingly. If design manufacturing department delays their job then how can the process of manufacturing machine can be started if the blueprint is not yet ready? Also a hasty work by any department can lead to a complete failure of the entire company. Thus a cooperation between each department is necessary for a manufacturing successful product. If young talents are not trained accordingly then they will not be able to take the position as a leadership in companies where cooperation is the essential requirement for a company.

However, in fields such as sports, if a person is not able to compete his opponent then there's no way he can sustain the position in that particular sport. In a running race, atheletes have to be prepared for a tough competition so that they can climb to peak of success if they are able to compete the opponents. Athletes are trained in such a manner that are ready for any hurdles in their life and always prepared for any competition in their career. From the above example, if young talents are to be trained in fields like sports, they have to trained by a sense of competition and not cooperation. If a person is not able to lead his team for any competition he is thrown into then there's scant chances for him to sustain in sports. Thus a leader should be trained with a sense of competition such that he can lead his team successfully.

The above prompt is true in both the ways, both cooperation and competition is necessary according to the field. Many believe that cooperation is required for a great leadership while many believe a competition is necessary. In conclusion, i can say that the prompt is false if young people are trained by instilling only cooperation. It depends on what field the person is trained for.