Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

In the above argument, it is being concluded that our ancestor already knew about paleo diet that consuming bone broth can have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases and emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illness. To support the argument, it is cited that eating bone soup can heal our joints and chondroitin. But also many skeptics diagree with the evidence provided. The argument as a whole is based on many unstated assumptions which significantly undermines the argument.

Firstly, it assumes that a study has been conducted and proven true about bone soup and has an evidence that bone broth it can heal joints and chondroitin. But is the study being verified by other scientists? Because in the argument itself it is shown that the skeptics disagreed with the hypothesis. It can be possible that the study was completely false and skeptics were correct about the bone broth.One cannot believe in any study which has never being verified. The author in the argument assume the above study to be true. If the above assumption is proven false then it would undermine the argument.

Secondly, it assumes that ancient human had already studied about the physiology and had came to the above conclusion that bone soups were used as medicines. It is assumed that they consumed such diet just for the sake of their health. But what if it was just a coincidence? Is there any evidence provided that ancient people where using such diet just because to use it as a medicine? It can be possible that they unknowingly used such diet just for the sake of mitigating their hunger. It could also be possible that people loved the taste of such diet that it was spread throughout the society that everyone started consuming such diets. There is no proper evidence that the diet used by them was for the purpose of curing chronic illnesses. This requires further analysis in order to support the argument, else it simply undermines the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, where is stands right now is inconclusive because of many assumptions the argument is currently based on. Further more explanation and research is required to consider the argument's significance as true. But due to many misleading assumptions, one cannot conclude that following the diet can cure chronic diseases and ancient people used such diet for curing from the illnesses.