The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is an act of impacting knowledge, either formal or an informal learning. Science and technology, health and medical, human relation, positive attitude. All this are being learned through one or more forms of teaching. The prompt suggests that teaching by praising the positive attitude and ignoring the negative one is best. In my own opinion I mostly disagree with the prompt and I suggest that not ignoring the negative actions are the best way of teaching. I will be supporting this with the following three points.

Firstly, Ignoring the negative actions can negatively impact the outcome of the learning, for example the coach of a great football team Arsenal in the last decade named Arsenal wenger, during one of the football tournaments, he was coaching the team and teaching them various good skills that the team can use in winning their upcoming matches. He taught them the new skills and he focus on praising the good player that get the skills right and he fails to acknowledge the bad one’s, he ignores them and during the match two of these good players eventually sustain injuries and they cant continue with the match, so the bad players were include in the match to replace the injured players and the perform woefully. All the blame were laid on the coach because the fans belief he his the master planner and he didn’t teach well. The above example shows that the ignored bad players affect the good one negatively and this eventually leads to bad performance, the result of bad teaching.

In addition, Ignoring the bad action in a group can make them feels bad and they may eventually be an antagonist to the good one. Relating with the following scenario where the boss is teaching the apprentice how to cook some kind of food. If few of them are getting the teaching and he keeps praising them. The group that are not getting the teaching will feels bad and they may become an enemy to the extent that, they may also be looking for ways to spoil the cooking and this can make the goods one’s having bad food. And the teacher will be a bad one since non of the group will have good result. Its obvious that ignoring the bad actions is not a good practice.

However, because of proves that praising good actions is not a good practice doesn’t mean praising them doesn’t have any advantages. One of the merits of praising the good action is that it will help those that are doing better to keep doing fine and those that are doing bad to improve. For example, a school that complement the best student in the department with a prize. This will encourage him to keep doing fine and it will also encourage the rest to put in more efforts. Teaching is a great tools in developing our society and doing it in the right direction is what will be beneficial to us.