The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

As the human's expected life time extends, the importance of education becomes higher because just for ten to twenty years, a person need to learn to basic things for the rest of their life. The rise of importance of education leads to discussion about the best way to teach. The statement explains that the best way is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I partially agree on this statement, which means I agree on prasing positive actions but sometimes ignoring negative action won’t be the best thing to do.

At the student’s perspective, the view of getting an education, it is difficult to distinguish between the good things and the bad things. Not only this is teacher’s duty to teach about what the students don’t know, but also to give the indication of the rightness what they’ve learned. From the platitude “A whale dance from a single handclap”, positive response becomes significant signs to student that what they are doing is right. Also, it is human’s natural instinct that when a person get a positive feedback from whom has certain level of authority, he or she shows stong motivation of doing it again. Remember at the education institution what we felt when the teacher or professor gratify what we done, it is difficult to deny this part of statement.

The followers of the latter statement contends that for the sake of distinguishing the good and bad, the teacher should give the opposite respond to the negative ones which is ignoring. However, the ignoring action is a passive opposite respond and this action could be ignored by the student because the reward by ignoring such weak respond and doing negative behavior is sometimes bigger than following the teacher’s lead. To prevent this, the student should achieve, more active, stronger respond such as scolding or certain form of punishment. For example, if the student’s minor misbehavior such as not concentrating during other person’s speech is kept being ignored while a person who listen to the speech actively gets an applause, the student could easily find out that the behavior was inappropriate and try to fix it.

However, if the student did something ethically wrong such as stealing other person’s bad and get nothing but ignoring, the student could understand this as a good thing because a bag fulled of things that the student didn’t have is bigger reward than the applause from the teacher. It would occur less if the teacher decided to scold the student who did robbery and warn him this is against the law because it will make student understand that the risk of such action is way bigger than the reward.

I agree on giving the gratitude to students for doing positive actions. However, for some negative actions, a proper punishment should be given to inform student that is bad, which won’t work sometimes when the teacher neglect the event.