Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

It is true that many of us often make a perspective of a certain person and sometimes even made them our source of inspiration as well, but becoming a minion and just blindly following them is also hap hazardous for the society as a whole and hence one shouldn't directly consider them as their sole ideals or make provident outlook to the decisions they make and thus because of these protegees, one can judge the character of the society as well. Hence I disagree with the issue.

The best way to understand the disagreement in the claim can be seen in any country which is following a democratic form of government. The people in these countries are generally divided into three categories say right, left and centrist, the right ones are those who agree with all the decisions taken by their leader and support them, the left is those who generally oppose all their decisions, and centrists are neutral. So you can see that everyone has their heroes and leaders to whom they look up to and now in a country like India where so much population is there and so as the political parties as well, everyone has their leaders and heroes. So how can one judge the character of society as a whole, it is very difficult to make a generalized statement?

Furthermore, if we talk about the reason which is mentioned that is heroes and role models are at the apex in the list of ideals that people follow, but it could lead to the downfall of society as a whole. For example, if we take a country like Germany during the rule of autocratic Hitler, we knew that how much he and nazis hate jews but imagine a small kid who didn't even know who jews are would automatically start hating them just because the society around him idealize a man who is a dictator and doing everything to eradicate a particular society and hence these heroes shouldn't be put at the pinnacle of the ideals list.

Although, there could be some instances in which considering a certain individual as their hero or role model will help a certain individual to motivate them and the one will try to take the path that his role model took. For example, if I talk about myself I consider Elon Musk as my hero and role model, not just because he is the richest man in the world but because the journey he experienced and the decisions he had taken makes him the most contagious and captivating person for me. So if a third person would now judge me based on my hero they may have a pretty good image of me and hence in some cases, the character judgment of society could be accurate.

In conclusion, there is nothing such a best way to understand the character of society because everyone has their models and everyone has their perspective and mentality, one could not change it so easily and thus I disagree with the reason and claim both. At last, I want to say that one individual cannot persuade another one to the convinced that orange is the new black.