Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Folklore and parables have always been an inextricable part of any human society. From the historical Alexander the great to the fictional Superman, all these heroes and role models have always continued to inspire us in a wide spectrum of humanity under varying degrees. But while society perpetuates the concept of a hero and tries to see it manifest before its very eyes, and could be viewed as a collective collage of what society wants itself to reflect, the claim that society is best judged by who it touts as a hero or a role model is tenuous for a couple of reasons. In addition, the reason at hand which tries to intimate that role models illuminate the ideals of society is in itself somewhat correct but does not do much to support the claim it is set out to buttress.

To begin, heroes and role models are deified and too idealistic, and so, do not really constitute the 'best' imagery of society. Therefore, the incisiveness used to discern a society based on its role models would be futile and misleading. The smoke screen that a hero is, while quite delightful to look at, is a concept. For example, in today's contemporary society, Batman might be an ideal for most Millenials along with a long line of other superhero characters that is part of the popular culture. While studying Batman could allow someone to entertain oneself living a life of a crime fighter vicariously, it does not reflect the characters of a society. Definitely, the society of the 21st century is not filled with individuals seeking vigilante justice every two blocks and anarchy is too far fetched. Perhaps, a more nuanced claim would be that examining the heroes of a society gives a better picture of what a society wants to strive towards becoming.

Furthermore, the claim is too strong in its stance. It suggests that studying the heroes and Role models is the BEST way to understand a society. There are multitudes of situations in history itself to refute this position. For instance, studying Abraham Lincoln during his prime would do anything but show what the society at the time was like. Perhaps, he was the culmination of what the society could offer but this does not, in any way, suggest that merely studying a Lincoln, or a Margaret Thatcher, or say, a Martin Luther King can give us enough leeway to make judgments about a society and its characteristics. That being said, do these men and women represent the highest of ideals that the society has drawn upon? The answer is, yes, to a certain extent. While these people were definitely human,and so, consequently fallible, with their own foibles, they were called upon in stories and annals of history to draw inspiration from. May be not the 'highest' ideals, but they surely represent a quality of probity in them.

But there is a catch to these role models since sometimes role models are fabricated to teach lessons, and might portray a darker side of the human psyche. For example, Achilles was a hero in the Greek fables who had a ridiculous weakness and could be killed with a blow to the knees. This might be interpreted to show that all humans have weaknesses, that is, an Achilles' heel. While this is quite pertinent to society, and individuals in general, it does not represent the zenith of human morality, nor does it comment on human potential most significantly. In addition, to this, Rife with banality and the mundane recently, with the same old plot of the good guy, there seems to be a paradigm shift where the society is rooting for the anti-hero in literature and movies in general. So, assuming that heroes and role models directly describe a society is not really a strong issue. And the reason that heroes and role models represent the highest qualities of a society is cogent but does nothing to defend the claim. On the other hand, the heroes and the role models reflecting back on what a society wants to see itself as is quite tenable.