Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Should the characteristics of a society's men and women be judged based on their role models? This question raises controversies among people, on or hand some argue that the heroes chosen by a society can actually be used to sum up their values and believes while other will argue that just from looking the heroes chosen by a community is not enough to know that values and believes of such society.

Studying the characteristics of a society should actually be done by examining the characteristics of such society men and women and the heroes and role model they chose. This is because the values portrayed by the role model and heroes that are celebrated from a society don necessarily reflect in the values and believes of the community. For example Nelson Mandela of South Africa is viewed as one of the heroes from that country; he was popular and recognize for his contribution to stopping the appetite war that plagued South Africa. Nelson Mandela's name is almost synonymous to peace because he even have a novel peace price to show for it. Though Mandela is celebrated and seen as role model and heroes to so many South Africans but this peaceful characteristics is not replicated by the men and women of South Africa because we all know about the xenophobic attacks that the South African citizen are doing out to foreigners in that country.

Like Mandela another very good example Mahat Maghandi of India, who is celebrated in several societies India and a role model to so many men and women in that part of the word. We all know that Ghandi was celebrated for his believes of non violence. Though accepted as heroes to so many Indian citizens, and this peaceful act is not replicated by the citizens of India because we still have cases of violence in that part of the world. Also in the middle East where many Muslim clerics have been celebrated for preaching the peaceful nature of Islam as a religion and which is actually accepted as believes of the men and women of those countries like Iraq, Afghanistan etc, but these countries are one of the most dangerous areas to live on earth because of constant killings and wars those areas. Also some the most deadly terrorist group like Alkaida and Isis origin can be traced to countries that claim to preach about peace.

However, those that argue that examining the characteristics of the heroes chosen by a society can lead to understanding the characteristics of such society men an women might point out the fact that, it is not all South African that participate in xenophobic activities or all Indians that carry out act of violence, but as humans we are dynamic and to understand the characteristics of someone by even studying that person it self is more co.plex than we all think because time and environment tend to change the way we perceive things as humans let alone understanding a whose society by just looking at the characters of some selected heroes and role models from that society.

In conclusion, since most South Africans and Indians tends to negate the values and norms of their heroes it shows that the characteristics of a society's men and women is difficult to understand from just their role models.