As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

This topic raises the controversial issue human dependence on technology will reduce their ability to think for themselves. Indisputably, some might argue that over-dependence on the use of technology will lead to laziness which reduces the ability to think as humans. Nevertheless, others will argue that, the use of technology will create more time to think and also solve more complex problems. After careful consideration, I will argue that as humans, rely more on technology to solve our problems it will give more time to thing and also solve more problems.

The use of technology makes things done fast, this lead to the creation of more time to think and solve more complex problems, for example in the are of mathematics the use of a simple calculator make addition easy and it's done fast, this lead to human to think and open a new aspect of science called computational mechanics - where the use of differential equations to solve more complex real-life problems in engineering, theoretical physics and cosmology, all these will not be possible if not the time created by the use of computers to solve these complex differential equations.

Also, the use of technology also creates more problems for humans, such that in other to solve them it becomes impossible not to think. For example, the use internal combustion engines in transportation, create the problem of polluting the environment with carbon monoxide, also the over-dependence of humans in fossil fuel brings about the release of chlorofloro carbon gasses - these gasses are harmful to humans and deplete the ozone layers. All these problems lead to the to a new field of generation of clean energy from natural sources such as solar, geothermal, hydroelectricity, wind energy and so on, all these cannot be impossible if not for the ability of humans to think for themselves to solve problems created from the dependence on technology. Also more problems have been solved through research which is made possible by the internet, because it has turned the world to a global village such that a person in Nigeria can get information about a problem in an Indian person is trying to solve, communicate easily with such person and together they can tackle the problem from different angle and solve it as efficient as possible.

Another field where technology has been actively applied to solve more problems in the areas of medicine, in the olden days diseases such as polio and malaria that have significantly taken the lives of humans are reduced to trivial sickness, all these are made possible by the use of technology to facilitate research and synthesis of chemical together to make drugs and potent vaccines. Also, the use of imaging has made it possible for x-rays to be used in hospitals to assist doctors to see the problems in patients body such as bone fractures so as to enable the best treatments to such patients, all these will not be possible if humans have reduced ability to think because of technology.

However, some might argue that since humans are naturally lazy, the use of technology will lead to not be to think for ourselves because we see people these days that cannot do a simple arithmetic because of the over-dependence of calculators or not even knowing the meaning of some trivial words because Google is just a click away from air smartphones.

In conclusion, human dependence on technology has not reduced pure ability to think, because we can see that even though nature and technology itself brings lots of problems these days but humans are still providing solutions to these problems which will not be possible, if we are not thinking again.