Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

This topic raises the controversial issue about the usefulness of scandal because of the way it focuses people's attention on problems better than any speaker would. Some might argue that scandal is useful to society and to the world at large because it focuses our minds on issues that most people didn't even know exists. But nevertheless, others would argue that scandals don't really move society forward because it is usually random and takes our attention to cases that are irrelevant or coming at the wrong time. Therefore, after carefully considering both sides of the argument its clear scandals does more harm than good to a society because it focuses on the wrong sides of issues most of the time.

Sandals are most of the time not useful, because it turns the attention of people to a different part of an issue and draws attention from the main problem. For example in Nigeria 2013, there was an interview held at Channels Television - a popular television station in the country, where a highly decorated officer in the National civil defender commission NSCDC was invited to speak on several issues in the country about employment, security and so on, during thus interview several issues were thrashed out and solution to problems in the Nigerian society were said in that interview by the NSCDC officer. But in the cause of the interview, the man committed a grammatical blunder, social media and whole lots of online media houses blew this case out of proportion such that most people in the country only heard the information about the blunder made by the officer. The effect of this was the scandal of the grammatical blunder threw people off from the important points and solution to problems provided by the officer during the interview. Also, the formal first lady of Nigeria Mrs. Patience Jonathan was involved in a similar grammatical blunder scandal. In 2013 the notorious terrorist group Boko-Haram in Nigeria kidnap 26 secondary school girls from a town called Chibok. This issue made the first lady to address the community and commiserate with the parents of the kidnapped girls and unfortunately, made a grammatical error while addressing the community. The media blew this out of proportion saying the wife of the president cannot address the public and threw people off the main problem which is the kidnapped girls.

Scandals can also cause the untimely death of people. This is because most of the time the information profligate is usually false which always affects the person of interest negatively. For example, we've seen cases of people that committed suicide because they cannot face their loved ones due to the scandalous situation they been perceived to have been. Thus, causing the death that could have been prevented if not for the false information dispersed.

However, scandals do draw people's attention to issues that no one taught even exist and usually lead to further investigation. For example the case of data mining that happened with Facebook - a social networking site, in which the personal information of subscribers was leaked to the public without the consent of the person in question. This case made people be more security conscious of what they put on the internet.

In conclusion, scandals do more harm than good because most of the time it diverts people's attention to the most trivial part of a problem, wrongfully profligate information and may also cause the loss of life of some people as explained earlier.