In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

this topic raises the controversial issue whether, discussion among people having different opinions to any problem or situation brings progress. Indisputably, it is required for people who have contrasting opinions to discuss in other for the best among all the opinions to prevail in solving the problem at hand. Nevertheless, in some situation progress is made by people without conflicting opinions or even just by one person such as most technological advancement. Thus, I would argue that for progress to be achieved, conflicting opinions from different people is required.

different opinions from several people actually bring progress in several situation. this is because when conflicting opinions are tailored toward as problem in ist cases that problem is usually viewed from several angle which will eventually pave way for the best solution to solve the problem at hand . For example in Nigeria, a country that has a long list of political parties which have different ideology and doctrine of governance. Nigeria also run an executive system of government, but the decision making in the constitution is done by the house of representatives and senate. Both the house of representatives and senate comprises of congress men and women from different parties and during decision making on several issues about moving the country forward, they all bring forward their opinions, though in some cases this lead to intense argument, but in most cases the best decision that favours all parties and the country at large is reached. also, in 2013, president Goodluck Jonathan-the sitting president of the federal republic of Nigeria then setup a committee named CONFAB which comprises of different people from every part of the country such as: chiefs, lectures, student leaders, elders and veterans all in a large conference room to discuss and try to bring suggestion to provides solutions to several problems. this initiative worked pretty well because most of the ideas and decision made than were implemented and are still working well till date.

However, we've seen several situations where progress have been made by like-minded persons with similar views. For example, during the pandemic outbreak of the Ebola hemorrhagic in most past of the African continent, the Zika virus outbreak in America. The outbreak of these deadly diseases led to the coming together of like-minded scientist that understood the concept of diseases of nature and they were able to mass produce vaccines and came up with ways the human populace can prevent the transfer of these diseases. but looking at the situation critical it is clear that though the group consist of like-minded scientist, they must have looked at the problems from different angle before a suitable and workable cure is discovered for these diseases.

In conclusion, from the analysis of this issue whether progress can be obtained by contrasting point of view, it is clear from the examples provided that one of the major requirement to providworking solutions to solving problematic situation is having contrasting point of view so as to pave way for the best solution.