The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford offcampus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The recommendation made by the director of housing at Buckingham college about building new dormitories because they expect the number of students to double in the next 50 years might seem logical at first glance. However taking a critical look at the argument, one will realize it is based on unfounded assumptions about what is actually making students prefer staying in the college dormitories and also leave space for several unanswered questions. This argument is flawed and illogical.

First of all, the director readily assumes that the number of students enrolling at the college will continue to increase. Suppose, for example, a new and better college is built close to Buckingham college to compete with this college which in turn reduces the number of students that will enroll in the next few years to come. To strengthen the argument, the director should have provided evidence ensuring these problems will never arise.

Secondly, the argument also relies on the assumption that the major reason students consider when renting an apartment is the price it cost. Suppose for example the next crop of students that will enroll in this college from now on don't like to stay on campus and prefer staying off-campus is the cost of accommodation, this reason alone makes the conclusion flawed.

Finally, the argument also assumes that the dormitories provided by Buckingham college are the best option for students. What if another housing facilities which is far better equipped than what the college has available for students now and it's even cheaper in other to attract more student is built near the college to compete in student housing issues.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. This is because the assumption backing the recommendation made by the director of housing of Buckingham college did little to support the conclusion and also leave room for several unanswered questions. To strengthen the argument the director should provide evidence to the following: he is sure that no new college will compete with Buckingham college for prospective students, the number of students will continue to rise, the major motivation for student picking accommodation is no price and finally there will be no future facility that will compete with their college for accommodation of students within the next 50 years.