Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

major cities have many ways of income.that income may be generated through taxes or tourism or by getting some investments.Consider the city Hyderabad,where the charminar was situated.Hyderabad is one of the fastest developing cities across the world.it attracts the many foreigners across the world.Many companies and big giants such as tata groups,Infosys and many other companies are situated across it. This city has so much income and it will be go on even if government did not give any financial support.

Consider New Delhi,it is the capital of India.Every year there are many tourists to visit red fort and taj mahal which is nearer to it.The main source of income for these cities are through the tourism.so they may not require any additional fundings through the government to run the city.

But villages and rural areas across the cities requires additional funding.As there are no companies in those areas and no tourisim at those places these places have less income compared to the cities.Government should allocate money to see areas where will also be able to develop.

There is also some other way of seeing this.cities across the world are developing so fast and they are seen similar.Some cities share the same type of culture too.So tourists coming to the place spend less time in the cities and spend more in the areas where the city main cultural root is there. Since all the cultures and traditions roots comes from the villages, the people who visit will give utmost importance to them.

But in villages there are no perfect facilities as there in the cities.So to develop them they require funding from the government.There are no medical facilities in the villages.Even today there are some villages with out getting mobile signal.For those areas to be develop govt must spend more money on them.

To sum up,there is no necessity to provide funding to the major cities,as they can generate on their own.but the villages and some areas which are very far from the city need that funding. So govt must spend their money at that place.