Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Ans: To make important decisions in life, the first and most prior thing that we need to do is weigh the pros and cons of the situation regarding which we are making the decision. In order to do so, we have to have some inkling or knowledge of the past if that is possible. Today, the new age might have evolved with a great variance from the past, and situations that arise in our day to day life might not be similar with the ones in past, but I refuse to ackonwledge that dissimilarity of events between different time gaps has as much of a major impact as the claim suggests. To make decisions, it is not always necessaery that there should be a connection evident between situations that we have faced previously and situations that we haven't encountered before.

I disagree with the suggestion because people learn new things everyday with time, and time is not constant. In most of our lives, we are faced with a new and different incident that we have not experienced earlier every new day, and yet we learn and store the lessons from what we have faced because they have taught us a novel aspect of any sort of situation. Scientists making new discoveries do not always approach a substance or subject from a predecessor's point of view. When Alexandar Fleming discovered penicillin, he did not know about its effects on bacteria from any great scientists before him. But does it imply that when he initially started studying about bactreria, he did not learn from the scientific revelations that those said scientists had made in that field? When Mark Zuckerburg created Facebook, he did not decide to make the website that is so popular today based on any connection from any previous discoveries relating to it, but that doesn't necessarily mean that he had not applied any feature in his creation which is absolutely irrelevant to what he learned from past, maybe as a child.

With respect to our daily lives' happenings, it is somewhat true that we sometimes have to distance ourselves from the past experiences, in order to see through things in a new light, so that we can exercise an absolute new idea to a theory, to change the orthodox perspectives regarding the matter. However, to distinguish between past and present occurences and to completely disregard past experiences, claiming that they are completely valueless are very different, and I find choosing to follow the latter path as an unwise choice.

I conclude that no matter whatever the situation is that we experience and shove it in the back of our experiences, even if it will not have any cxonnection to any future cases that are upcoming, we should always learn from them. Because to make a decision, it is not mandatory for situations to be connected, but the knowledge regarding the issue we have faced is, as factors of knowledge are not always directly proportional to each other.