In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

it is not convenient for the city government to invest more money for riverside recreation purposes revolving mason river, just because certain surveys have claimed that water sports are the said city residents' favourite form of activities. it is not likely that majority of the residents had taken part in the polls, and those who have taken part i might be mutually inclusive in the surveys in question.Thus the suggestion that a lot of the residents are equally inclined to riverside recreational activities is a bit presumptuous.

Although funding for the clean up of the river will help to extinguish the smell and keep a healthier, cleaner environment, it is not compulsory for the city park department to devote more amount of money in developing the river solely for recreational facility purposes. The government might have a lot more pressing issues at hand to solve at the moment, rather than investing more money upon developing the mason river for sports facilities. And in all honesty, even if the claims are supposed as valid for the sake of argument, it is not necessary for the river to prepared for that specific cause. Community swimming pools are a better option for activities like swimming, and other various water sports. And as it has already been mentioned in the statement that water in mason river is unclean, it is extremely unlikely that we can go fishing there. So it isn't necessary at all that the recreational games mentioned in the hypothesis can only be practiced in the river stated.

I would like to clarify that the assumptions made from the surveys' statements are invalid and are not strong enough to support the cause of taking up more budget amount than it should be allocated.