Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

As we are living in the society, which is growing, evolving and moving towards modernization, in terms of technology as well as increasing intellectual ability of an individual. Such as modernization in transportation and modernization in choosing any individuals career to secure his future. In order to bind all the elements society, there is a need to follow a legal system. Hence, the many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and legal system does not hold true because of the only reason that laws cannot change what in peoples mind.

In modern society, freedom has been given to all the individuals such as to speak, to ask questions, to select their career and so on. But selecting career as a contract killer or choosing character that abuse people around must not be part of their freedom. Here, the laws and legal system appears to be a controlling factor where there is a punishment for every illegal and hasty activities, such as killing and hurting people or abusing them. Even if such thoughts came into peoples mind, they know the consequences to go in that path.

Another example is that as people have different ways for transportation and laws and legal system have rules as it mentioned as traffic rules and available ways to follow on the street. Consider if such traffic rules are not there, then people will travel through their own ways and can take wrong side as a shortcut to reach any place as soon as possible but might met with an accident and cost his life to death. This is the major society problem that is managed and controlled by traffic legal problem and made people to act according to rules and not to follow shortcuts in illegal ways.

As we know about human behaviour, it is bit difficult to change what an individual is thinking and what thoughts running in his mind. For example , if a person living in USA where you cannot throw used plastic cans or water bottles on street because you might get punished by laws available in USA to behave and act in public places. Because of those rules, most of the people won’t do it like throw water bottle on the street, even if that individual wanted to do it. But consider that guy went some other country where there are no such rules, here he can throw bottles and cans on the street if it in his mind. So it is true that it is difficult to change peoples’ mentality and thoughts but these laws and legal system can at least control them.

Thus, it is quite impossible to know what is in peoples’ mind or what he his thinking and so no possible ways to alter their thinking. But these laws and legal system plays a very important role in modern society that keep people stick around and act in legal ways.