Claim: Military training strategies, such as unit cohesion and drilling, are powerful techniques to use in a classroom.

Reason: These strategies allow students to focus on a task and think like a team, supporting one another to reach a goal.

Develop a response to the claim in which you discuss whether or not you agree with it. Focus specifically on whether or not you agree with the reason upon which they claim is based.

More and more, military training strategies are being tauted as powerful techniques and are being integrated into business and organizational models. The vast benefits of military training strategies such as focus, discipline and teamwork are apparent and help individuals succeed in life. As such, military training strategies should be used in the classroom so that students can reap in their benefits.

First and foremost, one of the biggest military training strategies is discipline. Discipline is essential to the military because strict adherence to responsibilities and standards help a team function like a well-oiled machine, which might be the difference between life or death. By educating children in a way that promotes discipline, this can instill in students a guide to preserverance and focus. Discipline allows students to put in the hard work and effort needed to focus on tasks, that will then translate into helping them achieve their goals. Research shows that learning a musical instrument early on in life helps instill discipline in children, which then leads to future academic success in life. Since not all students come from families that can offer the luxury of learning a musical instrument, if we were able to implement another method in which we could instill discipline among students, the students will benefit from it by learning to focus on their workload to achieve their dreams.

Furthermore, an important part of military training strategy is team cohesion. This strategy helps promote teamwork within a squadron. Team cohesion can benefit students and teach them to think like a team. Students will learn how to communicate effectively in group settings by working together, which can not only lead them to develop empathy but also give them an introduction to management. Team building exercises can help students excel both as an individual and as a member of society. This will indubitably provide them with the communication and social skills needed to succeed in life.

Opponents of incorporating military training strategies into the classroom will say that perhaps military training strategies are too harsh on students in the classroom. After all, they’re still at a tender age where it is vital to improve their confidence and self esteem, which might be demolished by military training strategies. However, students are tougher than we think they are. By succeeding in an environment that uses military training strategies, students will then become more confident through thier hard work and preserverance. Additionally, these military training strategies can be modified so that we don’t have to subject our youth the the harsh conditions of the actual military. Thus, such concerns can be easily overcome and we can continue to reap the benefits and rewards.

In conclusion, we need to prepare our students not only for their academic successes, but also instill in them soft skills that can allow them to succeed in life. By instilling discipline, focus and teamwork in students, we are doing our best to prepare them for life.