Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

As one of the parts of liberal arts, history is standing for the most critical position because of its importance, logic, and reflection to human society. While with the fast-developing world provide technology support and creativity ideas, tracing back to history has faced many challenges. Even though to pursue being objective, it is hard when to stay it interpreting the past. However, the difficulty does not mean impossible; the accuracy of the history study is also different from the special periods.

Creativity in history study is essential, but keeping objective also is significant. Creativity requires for all kinds of knowledge-producing activity, from inventing a small fan to establishing an abstract perplex theory. Since interpreting historical activities, events, and art needs imagination, and it is difficult for people to pursue being utterly impartial while studying history. Nonetheless, object still vital because it prevents using evidence to express a personal opinion or spread it as rumors. In addition, granting we cannot know the past directly, we still should not rely on creativity to explain history wildly as a painter or a musician. Also, creativity in history is not confined to the imagination; it also includes writing skills, critical thinking, and logic to challenge the previous dubious explanation.

While studying and doing research related to history have highly cost on time and energy, those documents require methodology creativity too. Studying history about 1 million years ago is very different from studying 100 million years ago one. If interpreting history count on creative writing solely, the past will lose its value because of the lack of credulity. In fact, in the history field, the method that finding and searching on documents are more critical than reading and writing it. Sometimes, only cooperation between different science field can make a breakthrough such as joint with geology, archeology, sociology, and chemistry.

Last but not least, history is updating with new findings. People change their perspectives to look at history when new evidence comes out. Nonetheless, artifacts, historical documents are needed in the history field; creativity is essential but not the only essence when considering its necessary in the academic area. It based on the imagination to connect the evidence, to find the new view, and to prove the conclusion, not because in interpretation.

Therefore, it is a popular idea that historians’ work is sitting on the table to explain the documents, long lists of accounts, and artifacts by using imagination. However, it is a misunderstanding. In the history field, being objective while using imagination is essential and the way to apply creativity never confined to reconstruct old stories. The creativity is for finding the truth before it lost in the unknown world.