Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that people mostly learn from the individuals who have the same attitude toward the issues, rather than the ones with the opposite perspective. The writer also further supports the claim with the reason that the disagreement of thought leads to the anxiety which ceases the learning. I fundamentally disagree with this proposition and its clue. In what follows, I will list my potent reasons to support my disagreement.

First of all, the challenge of the belief leads to the flourishment of that same belief, and it is not achievable unless different outlooks over the topic are considered. A lucid example which adherents my state is the contradiction occurred over the geocentrism and heliocentrism in the past. By this conflict which proposed by Nicolaus Copernicus, and was against the previously believed fact that the earth is in the center all planets and sun orbit around it; the new perspective is presented in the field of science. It also leads to extra exploration and enhancement in the field of astronomy which would be accessed unless this contradiction between the viewpoint occurred and scientists considered this difference.

Besides, this crucial fact should be assessed that modern science is shaped based on the various domains instead of the sole-source which was in the past. The variety of scientific areas means there will be some topics toward which all areas do not share the same perspective. In this case, the mature reaction over the variances and having a holistic attitude toward the topics will be beneficial for the sake of enhancement in the field. For instance, in my graduate field which is Building Science and covers all fields related to the mechanical, civil, and architectural engineering, by having the biased and partial stand over a topic, the ultimate result will not be in its optimum level and accountable for three mentioned engineering areas.

Finally, the writer reason which stress caused by the conflict stops the learning is invalid. Actually, I agree that the debate leads to the stress, and human being according to his inherent feature of questing the safety realm, mostly prefer to stand in the familial environment. However, this fear of going beyond the safety zone could lead to failure in the fields of education and knowledge. According to Iranian proverb ‘a wise enemy raises you up while a dumb friend knocks you down’ the importance of the gaining novel stands in the knowledge is more crucial than the repeating your belief with a dumb friend. The point is to know how to control the stress caused by the conflict of perspectives, and have to ultimate and holistic view over this contradiction and believe that this tension and pressure will end with boosted and informed stand.

To wrap it up, according to the aforementioned reasons, people learn more from the various views instead of repeating one. As the current knowledge’s multi-domain requires these various beliefs, and the challenge of believed idea could outcome with the better result.