CLAIM: Young people’s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like

smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

REASON: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships

online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Due to technological advancements, electronic devices like smart phones and tablets with internet access have become an integral part of the lives of many young minds. While it is true that this can have a profound effect on their malleable brains, I do not completely agree with the claim that the rate at which these devices are being currently used by the youth, can deter their socio-developmental skills due to the reason that they tend to form factitious personalities and relationships and refrain from engaging with people that surround them. I hold this opinion because I feel that these technological devices can actually help them develop their social skills and also save a lot of their time leaving them with more time to engage in activities that develop their relationships with other people and their personalities.

To begin with, today young people have an access to various resources of information via their smartphones and tablets. This can help them analyse various issues and the different aspects of these issues. In absence of these people would read about these issues via print media which usually have a single author and can thus give them limited information from a single perspective. Thus the yougsters who have similar points of view can come together and form groups and interact and discuss these. Thus instead of their opinions remaining boxed, electronic media provides them opportunities to increase their social circle and improves their communication and social skills. For instance, people who believe in conservation of environment can come together via various online platforms, voice their concerns and work collectively towards their goal. Thus not only their communication skills, but also their personalities and relationships develop.

Furthermore, mobiles and tablets help the youngsters do a lot of their activities much faster. Thus they are left with more time to spend with their families and friends. Therefore usage of these devices like smartphones and tablets can actually help them develop their relationships and social skills. For example, a tablet or smartphone can help a school student get done with his assignments quicker. This will leave him with much more time to spend with his parents and with his friends. He can also use various online communication platforms to discuss the assignment with his friends. Thus his skills, relationships as also his own personality are being positively influenced by the technology.

However, like every coin with two sides it is true that the youth are certainly exposed to a lot of unchecked information by people who are not experts via electronic media which can affect their opinions and personalities. It can also cause them to develop addictions to these sources. For example, a youngster becomes addicted to a mobile game that involves violence, he will keep playing it all day and reduce interaction with his family and change his personality to a violent one. These side effects come with the loads of advantages that these technological devices have to offer us.

Thus the issue is complex with no real answers. However in my opinion it is wrong to come to conclusion that smartphones and tablets negatively affect the youth's personality, relationships and social skills because these devices can actually help them develop these in a number of ways.