College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Education plays a crucial role in one's life. Like a potter who molds and gives a perfect shape to clay, education in the same way shapes and refines one's character and abilities. But it should not hamper the existing innate qualities. The college students in order to quickly earn money and climb the social ladder, generally squelch their inherent interests and opt for the lucrative degree subjects. This trend has detrimental effect on both person and society.

Firstly,interest could be considered as synonym for motivation . People like Rabindranath Tagore a Nobel Laureate, Steven Spielberg one of the finest motion directors in history,Thomas Edison inventor of electric bulb,Steve Jobs founder of one the multi-billion cooperation Apple, were all driven by their basic instincts. They were either college dropouts or less educated but their passion for the art they were predisposed to, encouraged them to break the stereotypes and emerged as winners. These examples prove that one need not to sacrifice their desires and divert to conventional path,which could offer them work but no satisfaction, but should follow the path they are passionate about in order to garner success.

Secondly,it does not ensure high performance.Each one of us is blessed with some special qualities. Today, many people are either taking engineering or medical as their degrees courses which are highly profitable. But one neglects the fact that without propensity one can never do justice with the course. They, through hard word , can pass the test and even get good grades but it is not necessary that they will become highly skilled coder or doctor . Though these people will increase the number of skilled labor in the society, but they would not necessarily be efficient thus decreasing the overall quality of workforce. On the contrary, if a person opts for his desired degree field, he will never consider his studies or job tedious. He could be potential source of novel ideas.

Further,it could lead to removal of several fields from the curriculum that, though are important but not chosen because of insignificant amount of jobs or meager salary. Subjects like Fine Arts, Music,English Literature are less preferred by the student. These subjects play a major role in shaping peoples life as they have the power to make people feel good and bring beauty and pleasure into their world. If this trend continues,then there would be a time when these subjects will become history which in turn will have a inimical impact on society. The society devoid of poets, musicians, painters, sculptors and comprising of only doctors and engineers will be too prosaic place to live in.

Galileo Galilei quoted "Passion is the genesis of all genius" therefore, the student instead of scotching their passion should follow it without much deliberation about job availability or pay scale. In the end, one thrives for job satisfaction not money; although money can buy one all luxuries but it cannot buy happiness.