Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Scholar institutions seek different ways to guarantee their students success. One of the suggestions is to require learners to spend a semester studying abroad. I believe that this will come along with some negative and positive outcomes, like any other decision, but at the end of the day, the positive outputs overcome the negative side-effects.

Some draw-backs of the assertion are about the difficulties that students suffer from moving to another country. The social and cultural differences, the linguistics problems, homesicking, financial hindrances, and sometimes legal issues. For instance, not only do an American student find it challenging to communicate in Spanish language in Madrid, But he will be confused by the cultural differences and norms of proper behavior. There are also a great deal of problems regarding financial matters. The various exchange rates between countries may cause some issues: in countries with lower exchange rate, students may end up overspending and developing a prodigal attitude, and in those of higher exchange rates they may be forced to cut off some essential expenditures. The list of problems will go on for students who are overly attached to their families and friends, and those with background medical or mental issues.

However, for most of these problems, there are various proper solutions. Cultural and linguistic problems can be solved by appropriate preparation and enough exposure to the foriegn communities. The financial problems are solvable with universities’ backup and developing a modest spending attitude. Thanks to technological developments, it is easy to remain in touch with the home country and overcome homesickness. Other problems can also be addressed and solved by using other’s experience and help. It is worth mentioning that I do not claim that these problems are easy to overcome and all of them would be solved. In fact, some of them will continue to bother the students, but they are worth it for the following positive outcomes.

In today’s volatile and connected world, it is vital for the students’ future career success to have some sort of international experience. The economy of the world is more than ever connected and continues to be more. Almost all of the most valuable companies are the international ones with branches all over the world. Even ones that are not international firms still make a great deal of profit from offering their services and products overseas. In this dynamic, the most successful employees are the one who are familiar with international relationships, demands, and trends. For instance, an American firm welcomes a marketer who is familiar with European people and culture more than someone with the same skills who lived only in the US.

Furthermore, living abroad will make the students more resilient since they should overcome the above-mentioned problems. These skills are vital for their real life because they will practice money management, coping with different people with different beliefs and cultural values, and valuing their beloved ones more than before. Besides, getting familiar with foreign cultures and society will widen the perspectives of the learners. It will provide them with a new lens through which they can look at the world and their problems with a pretty different approach than before. This will help them to reach new solutions, life philosophy, and eventually pave the way of success for them.

All in all, I think that despite the negative consequences of requiring students to study abroad for at least a semester, it is a great chance for them to become prosperous, and the positive outcomes of it are way more than the negative ones.