Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

It is debatable whether competition for high grades have adverse impacts on the quality of education at all levels. While too much emphasis on attaining high grades could yield detriments, healthy competition reaps numerous benefits at all levels of education.

To begin with, moderate competition for high grades during primary school could motivate children to learn. It is generally difficult for young kids to be motivated to learn; however, education is especially crucial in those ages since they learn the most fundamental concepts at primary school. Elementary math, language, and science all work as a basis for further learning of young children. Many studies show that adequate compensation such as high grades could boost their motivation to learn. If there is no grading system, and young kids are free of competition for high grades, how many students will actually strive to learn is questionable, which could affect the future of a society. Therefore, healthy competition for achieving high grades is conducive in furthering of learning at primary school level.

Healthy competition is beneficial to junior high and secondary school students as well. Although those students are more mature than primary school students, for many of those students, especially junior high students, go through puberty, which is a critical period in their lives. Any stimulus could swerve their lives to different directions; healthy competition for high grades could help them focus on their studies and not engage in defiant demeanor. Also, for secondary school students, it is critial time in their lives to begin to find and consolidate their interests for their future career. Competition for decent grades could facilitate them to study individial subjects more deeply, thereby eventually aiding them in figuring out their interests.

Furthermore, competition for good grades also heightens the quality of learning at college education. Many college students usually desire to focus on their major field of studies. Therefore, electives are neglected by many college students. However, electives that include quantitative ability, writing, natural science, and social science are imperative for them to become well-rounded workers that contribute to enhancement of a society. Competition for high grades will keep them from astraying and overlooking such elective courses, thus increasing the quality of learning.

Admittedly, too much emphasis on high grades could have deleterious effects on the quality of learning. Purpose of education could be defeated. Also, corrupt behaviors such as manipulation of grades, cheating, and bribing could be side effects of extreme competition for higher grades. However, benefits of competition for high grades on the quality of learning at all levels of education still overrides possible downside of it.

All in all, it is evident through aforementioned reasons that healthy competition for decent grades rather enhance the quality of learning experiences at all levels of education:primary, middle, high, and college level. It would be ideal if preventitive measures for extreme, unhealthy competition for high grades are invented for fuller learning at all levels of education.