Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author propounds that the quality of educational training decreases as achieving the higher scores in the examination gets more serious. This is the claim with which I generally do concur, among the countless reasons which give adherence to my viewpoint, I will list the most conspicuous ones in what follows.

This first striking fact which should be considered is the comprehensiveness of the examination system in the scope of covering the entire discussed contents. Indeed, each test holds in a limited period and can cover the percentage of topics covered in the classes. As a result, the exam does not indicate the exact level of understanding. According to this partiality and failure of the examination system, if a student adapts his schedule to achieve the best mark at the incomplete exam, he will get the fragmentary cognition too. Consequently, although he has a high score in the tests, his knowledge is aligned with those dominate topic in test and ignorance of other fundamental subjects.

Another equally crucial fact is the attempts for the high scores overshadows the comprehensive understanding. Even considering that the examination is flawless and covers the entire subject, working merely for the exam and score underestimates the grasp of the students. It is an obvious fact that the examination process is a stressful situation and presenting the ultimate function on the test day is an arduous task, since are forgotten as the students stressed out. Many students use the technic of memorizing the topics to overcome this problem. In fact, instead of spending their time to learn the main concept of topics, memorizing the formulas and relations between the formula seems convenient and easy to recall. However, after the test day, the big portion of those formula gets forgotten. According to the noteworthy, intelligence study conducted by the Department of Psychology at Tehran University, approximately sixty-five percent of the data memorized before the test day is misremembered a day after the test day. This study and its result explicitly illustrate the failures of the test.

However, some people posit that by students' hard work for preparation to tests, the educational status enhanced. This group lucidly considered the outcome of exams as the benchmark for this stand; meanwhile, two abovementioned paragraphs completely depict the failure of the examination system for coverage of discussed contents and recalling the information after the test days. Therefore, maybe the first test illustrates the students’ chasm understanding, there is the necessity of a second surprise exam two days after the first exam, to show the failure of the examination system.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts explicitly indicates the inadequacy of the examination system for covering the whole concept and privileging the wrong methods of remembering instead of understanding. Therefore, the competition for better score not only do not enhance the educational level but also ruins the students’ intelligence.